Menu
Log in

The Centre for Optimism

Log in

IACCM “Ask the Expert” - Victor Perton on “The Case for Optimism: What makes you Optimistic?”

  • Thursday, January 23, 2020
  • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
  • Webinar book via https://www.iaccm.com/events/register/?id=3583

Registration


Registration is closed

https://www.iaccm.com/events/register/?id=3583

How many business leaders do you know who aren’t optimists? 

Indeed, IACCM surveys have suggested that our members often attribute failed projects to the over-optimism of top management. As a result, many see the role of contract and commercial managers as bringing balance, a dose of reality, and facing up to the real risks. For the executive optimists, this may be viewed as pessimism and negativity, and lead to limited or late involvement. Optimism, however, is a good trait. Research shows it is associated with better health, a longer life, and greater success.

In this webinar, Victor will address how can we best temper our need to be commercially realistic with a healthy dose of optimism. He will discuss what sort of attitude that gains attention and increases our value? Learn how you can apply optimism within your business role and life in general, in acknowledging the mantra “All good leadership is optimistic”. Over the New Year Victor has been sharing optimism through The Centre' for Optimism's Shop of Optimism.

  • 7:30 am Mumbai / New Dehli / Gurugram 

  • 9:00 am Bangkok

  • 10:00 am Beijing / Shanghai / Singapore / Hong Kong / Kuala Lumpur / Manilla / Perth 

  • 12:00 pm Brisbane

  • 12:30 pm Adelaide / Darwin

  • 1:00 pm Sydney / Melbourne

  • ​3:00 pm Wellington / Auckland / Christchurch

Our Expert:

Victor Perton, Author of The Case for Optimism: The Optimists Voices.

Victor Perton is the Optimism Man. Puzzled by negative attitudes to leadership in his native Australia, Victor interviewed over 1500 people on the qualities of leadership.  His conclusion?  No shortage of good leaders, there a shortage of optimism. Victor now spends his time asking people the self-reflective question, what makes you optimistic?

He asks people to change their habits ever so slightly to become infectiously optimistic.  He does this on the streets, in prison, in schools, universities, companies, in social media and in books. Victor's life experience includes stints as Senior Adviser to the G20 Presidency, Trade Commissioner in North and South America, 18 years a parliamentarian, practice as a barrister, mediator, arbitrator, businessman and board service.


Spread Optimism by sharing this page on social media - click on one of these buttons

Call  Us
+61 417 217 241 (Australia)

+1 415 692 5290 (USA)

Address:
253b Richardson Street
Middle Park, Melbourne
Victoria 3206
Australia

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software